The Civil Service Commission (CSC) is an arm of the Executive, created in terms of Section 202 of the Constitution of the Republic of Zimbabwe amendment (no 20) Act 2013. This section provides for the establishment and composition of the Civil Service Commission and states that; “ There is a Civil Service Commission consisting of a chairperson and deputy chairperson; and a minimum of two and a maximum of five other members; appointed by the President.”
Section 199 of the Constitution provides that there is a single Civil Service, which is responsible for the administration of Zimbabwe and an Act of Parliament must provide for the organization, structure, management, regulation, discipline and, subject to section 203, the conditions of service of members of the Civil Service. This Act is the Public Service Act {Chapter 16:04}