His excellency the President, Dr. E.D Mnangagwa presided over the signing of Performance Contracts for Senior Public Office bearers for the year 2023 at a ceremony held on 16 March 2023 at the State House. The Government of Zimbabwe introduced Performance based contracts in 2021 for Cabinet Ministers, Permanent Secretaries, Chief Executive Officers for Parastatals, Local Authorities, Vice Chancellors for State Universities, and other Senior Government officials.


His Excellency referred to the milestone event as a demonstration of the irreversible course that the Second Republic is embarking on towards ensuring that Government systems, processes and personnel are ‘Fit for Purpose’. The Chairman to the Service Commissions, Dr. Vincent Hungwe added that the Performance Contracts were in sync with the President’s Vision to foster a high performance culture across the entire public service.


The colourful event also saw high achievers for the year 2022 presented with awards. To note, Dr. Anxious Masuka, Minister of Lands, Agriculture, Water, Fisheries and Rural Resettlement was awarded as the Best Cabinet Minister for 2022, with Dr Frederick Shava, Minister of Foreign Affairs as the Runner up. The Permanent Secretary for Ministry of Lands, Agriculture, Water, Fisheries and Rural Resettlement, Dr. John Bhasera scooped the Overall Best Permanent Secretary.